This massive wooden shield is nearly as tall as you are.
Benefit: In most situations, a tower shield provides the indicated shield bonus to your Armor Class. As a standard action, however, you can use a tower shield to grant you total cover until the beginning of your next turn. When using a tower shield in this way, you must choose one edge of your space. That edge is treated as a solid wall for attacks targeting you only. You gain total cover for attacks that pass through this edge and no cover for attacks that do not pass through this edge (see Combat). The shield does not, however, provide cover against targeted spells; a spellcaster can cast a spell on you by targeting the shield you are holding. You cannot bash with a tower shield, nor can you use your shield hand for anything else.
When employing a tower shield in combat, you take a 2 penalty on attack rolls because of the shield's encumbrance.
|Shield||Cost||Armor/Shield Bonus||Maximum Dexterity Bonus||Armor Check||Penalty Arcane Spell Failure Chance||Speed (30 ft.)||Speed (20 ft.)||Weight. 1|
|Shield, tower||30 gp||+4.3
Source: Core Rulebook
The Worlds of Mankind is owned and created by Mark John Goodwin
The text on this page is Open Game Content, and is licensed for public use under the terms of the Open Game License v1.0a.
System and the d20 System logo are trademarks of Wizards of
the Coast, Inc.
and are used according to the terms of the d20 System License version 6.0.
A copy of this License can be found at www.wizards.com/d20.