e Grappling Hook

Grappling
Hook

grey lines

Line-art drawing of a grappling hook. Pearson Scott Foresman, donated to the Wikimedia Foundation

Line-art drawing of a grappling hook. Pearson Scott Foresman,
donated to the Wikimedia Foundation

Source
Core Rulebook

Throwing a grappling
hook requires a ranged attack roll, treating the hook as a thrown weapon with
a range increment of 10 feet. Objects with ample places to catch the hook
are AC 5.

The following additional
information on Grappling Hooks comes from Pirates of the Inner Sea:

A grappling hook is usually
thought of as a climbing instrument, but is also used to grapple ships and
draw them close before a boarding action.

Grappling hooks bite
deeply into the wood of the railing. It takes 1 minute to pry a grappling
hook free. The rope attached to a grappling hook can be cut, but pirates often
target the rigging and masts to make it difficult to remove the hooks. Tying
off the rope of a grappling hook is a move action.

A grappling hook can
also be used as a ranged weapon.

If you are proficient
in the grappling hook, it is a grappling weapon. On a successful critical
hit with a weapon of this type, you can grapple the target of the attack.
You can attempt a combat maneuver check to grapple your opponent as a free
action. This grapple attempt does not provoke an attack of opportunity from
the creature you are attempting to grapple if that creature is not threatening
you. While you grapple the target with a grappling weapon, you can only move
or damage the creature on your turn.

You are still considered
grappled, though you do not have to be adjacent to the creature to continue
the grapple. If you move far enough away to be out of the weapon’s reach,
the grapple ends.

A grappling hook’s
weight includes the weight of 50 feet of hemp rope. It can be reduced by using
shorter or lighter rope.

grey line

The Worlds
of Mankind is owned and created by Mark John Goodwin

The text
on this page is Open Game Content, and is licensed for public use under the
terms of the Open Game License v1.0a.

‘d20
System’ and the ‘d20 System’ logo are trademarks of Wizards of
the Coast, Inc.

and are used according to the terms of the d20 System License version 6.0.

A copy of this License can be found at www.wizards.com/d20.